Gerlach Law

Assault Criminal Charges in Minnesota

Minnesota Criminal Defense Attorney Charles Gerlach is experienced in representing people charged with assault. He has over 25 years of experience practicing criminal law and taking cases to trial. He previously served as a prosecutor and knows the government’s tactics for prosecuting these cases, and uses his experience to protect your rights. Contact Mr. Gerlach for a free assessment of your case.

Let us use our decades of experience to address your legal needs.

Please fill out the form and we will get back to you shortly.

    Criminal Justice Experience Means Better Representation

    Having a former prosecutor represent you helps secure a good outcome. Mr. Gerlach has years of experience on the prosecution side that he puts to use for your case. He knows how police and the district attorney’s office think about assault cases and uses this knowledge to your advantage.

    Assault Charges in Minnesota

    In Minnesota, assault can be charged as a felony or misdemeanor depending on the facts of the case. Assault cases be frightening to face, you may be worried about your family, friends, and career but you are not alone in dealing with these charges. You have rights that need to be protected by an experienced, aggressive Minnesota assault defense lawyer.

    The sooner you speak with a qualified defense lawyer, the sooner investigators will be made to respect your rights. This will improve the outcome of your case.

    It’s important to consult with an attorney who has a history of successfully taking cases to jury trial in the event you need to defend your rights in court.

    Contact Assault Defense Attorney Charles Gerlach

    It’s important to have an experienced attorney represent you that you trust. Mr. Gerlach offers free initial case evaluation. Whether from dismissal to court proceedings and trial, Mr. Gerlach will be with you throughout the entire case working to secure the best outcome. Call his office at 952-210-5538 or contact us today.

    Free Assualt Case Evalutation

    1st Degree Assault

    • The assault created a high probability of death or caused serious permanent disfigurement or impairment; OR
    • The assault was through the use or attempted use of deadly force on a peace officer or correctional employee.

    Regardless of criminal history, a statutory minimum sentence of 74 months in prison is required if convicted. If the alleged assault is on a police officer or correctional employee, there is a 10-year minimum prison sentence. The maximum sentence for 1st-degree assault in Minnesota is 20 years in prison and a $30,000 fine.

    2nd Degree Assault

    Use of a dangerous weapon to injure or threaten another person. Dangerous weapons include firearms and knives. However, any tool or object designed as a weapon and capable of producing death or serious bodily harm also qualifies under the definition.

    Under the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines, the punishment for a second-degree assault is presumptive prison.

    3rd Degree Assault

    • The assault caused a fracture, or temporary and substantial disfigurement or impairment;
    • The assault was on a minor and the accused has a pattern of past child abuse against that minor; or
    • The assault caused multiple bruising, or bodily harm to the head, eyes, or neck of a child under four.
    • If charged with third-degree assault, you may be facing up to 5 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.

    4th Degree Assault

    Assault of law enforcement, correctional officers, or EMTs and firefighters: An assault on these professions can be a felony-level offense if the assault causes bodily harm or involves the intentional throwing or transferring of bodily fluids. This can carry 3 years in prison and a $6,000 fine.

    Bias-motivated assaults: Any bias-motivated assaults occurring within 5 years of a previous bias-motivated assault can result in felony assault charges. A bias-motivated assault is an accusation of assaulting someone because of the person’s race, religion, sex, sexual orientation, age, or disability. The assault does not need to cause bodily harm. If convicted of a felony bias-motivated assault can carry up to 366 days in prison and a $3,000 fine.

    5th Degree Assault

    The possible punishment of a 5th-degree assault can vary depending on the specific allegations. The potential punishment ranges from a maximum of 90 days in jail for misdemeanor assault charges, to five years in prison for felony fifth-degree assault charges.

    Free Confidential Assualt Case Evalutation

    Contact Mr. Gerlach for assault representation throughout Minnesota.

      Scroll to Top